Tags

,

So, hot on the heels of my last post, overnight (Australian time), the Supreme Court of the United States ruled that marriage equality is legal, constitutional, for EVERYONE! In all fifty states.

I never thought that a country with a large a Christian lobby as the U.S. would achieve marriage equality before Australia. But, it’s happened. Other countries with marriage equality laws include Ireland, Spain, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, New Zealand, the Pitcairn Islands, Sweden and South Africa, just to name a few. England, Scotland and Wales also have marriage equality laws.

I’ve always taken it pretty much for granted that I can marry, should I wish to. It’s something that, until recently, I think most straight people probably haven’t given much thought to. But, as marriage equality laws have changed around the world, I have thought about it. A lot. As I wrote previously, it’s a no brainer to me. It shouldn’t matter whatsoever who has what bits and bobs. Love is love, whether or not there’s a guy and a gal, a couple of guys, or a couple of gals. If those two people love each other, and want to be married to each other, and, as Justice Anthony King wrote in the ruling “They ask for equal dignity in the eyes of the law,” and “The Constitution grants them that right.” it’s that simple. Equal dignity. That’s it. It’s clear, and beautiful.

Once again I say come on Australia, it’s time! Let’s give all our citizens that same equal dignity.

